Obtain a movement permit from any DMV office if your dealer placard will expire before your appointment.
You must obtain liability insurance from a Nevada-licensed carrier in the exact name(s) which will be on the registration and title. Out-of-state insurance is not accepted. The effective date of the policy must be equal or previous to the registration date.
You must apply any tax exemption at the time of registration. We do not issue refunds or apply exemptions retroactively.
Register your new car, truck or motorcycle online without a DMV office visit! You can transfer existing license plates or get new plates in the mail. Choose from standard or charitable plates.
Electronic Dealer, Rebuilder of Lessor’s Report of Sale or Lease (EDRS)
Nevada Evidence of Insurance Card
Current Odometer Reading
Current Registration if transferring plates
Tax Exemption Number, if any
A printer for your movement permit and receipt
See Limitations for additional restrictions. Mopeds, motor homes and trailers must be registered in person.
Fee Credits / How It Works
Read these instructions carefully to ensure you get the proper credits.
If you are transferring your current license plates, your new registration will be credited for the unused portion of your old registration. A $6 transfer fee applies. Your old registration will be canceled.
If you want to get new plates, you will not be able to apply the credit from your old registration unless you cancel it first. Cancel your current registration through MyDMV first, then register the new vehicle.
Credit from an unrelated, previously-canceled registration may not apply if it is expired or not associated to your driver's license.
How It Works
Have your EDRS, Nevada Evidence of Insurance and other documents ready, You will need the ERDS Control Number and last four digits of the Vehicle Identification Number
To register and title a vehicle to a family trust, the name of the trust must be on the documents issued by the dealer. You need a Trustee Appointment and Powers Affidavit (VP 188) or court-certified trust documents in addition to all other requirements.
The name of a trustee can be added to the registration.
The name of the insured on the Nevada Evidence of Insurance must match either a name of a trustee on the registration or the trust to which the vehicle will be registered and titled.
If you are trading in a vehicle or selling one to a Nevada dealer, the dealer is required to satisfy any loan or lien within 30 days. Other states have similar laws but be sure to ask an out-of-state dealer when the lien will be satisfied. The dealer may have you sign a Power of Attorney or similar document if you do not have the title.
Nevada dealers are required to keep your trade-in until the financing on your new vehicle is finalized (up to 15 days). They must return your trade-in if they offer you different financing terms and you decline to accept the new contract.
Keep your license plates. These must be used on another vehicle or surrendered within 30 days. You will be issued a credit for the unused portion of the current registration.
Vehicle History Checks
Use the Vehicle Identification Number to query the following services or use a commercial service.
Defective vehicles must be repaired within certain time limits. Buyers who seek a replacement must submit a claim to the manufacturer first if the manufacturer has established a procedure for this. See NRS 597.600-597.688.
Used vehicles are sold "as-is" in Nevada. Dealers are generally not obligated to make repairs or guarantee a vehicle's condition. Any additional warranty must be in writing.
Dealers are, however, required to perform a drivetrain inspection on any light-duty vehicle with an odometer reading of 75,000 miles or more. This must be provided to the buyer at the time of sale. See NRS 482.3665-482.36667.
Nevada dealers are required to submit, to the DMV, all of the documents necessary to issue a Nevada title within 30 days of the date of the sale. They must apply for an extension if they are not able to meet this deadline.
The new title will be mailed to the registered owner if there is no lienholder.
You will not receive the title if your vehicle is financed or leased. The title information will be entered into the Electronic Lien and Title system.
You must satisfy the lien before you may sell the vehicle to a private party. Once this is done, the bank or other institution will release the title. The DMV will print and mail a paper copy to you. Be sure your lender has your current address.
The vehicle registration gives you the right to drive the car or truck on public highways. The Certificate of Registration and your Nevada Evidence of Insurance must be kept in the vehicle. Evidence of Insurance may also be kept on a mobile device.
The vehicle title shows ownership. It should be stored with your other important papers and not kept in the vehicle.