You must cancel your registration and surrender your license plates if:
Nevada requires you to keep your plates and either use them on another vehicle or turn them in to the DMV. Depending on the type of license plate, you may have either 30 days or 60 days to use the plates on another vehicle or turn them in. Generally, if you have a standard Home Means Nevada plate you will have 60 days, if you have a special plate you will have 30 days.
Cancel your registration online through a MyDMV account if you have sold a vehicle or if you plan to not operate a vehicle for any length of time.
Trade-ins. Do not use this transaction if you traded your vehicle in while purchasing a new vehicle from a Nevada dealer. Transfer the plates and register your new vehicle online through Online Registration.
You may mail the plates, decal, and a signed letter requesting cancelation. You may wish to send the plates via certified mail with return signature required. Be sure to include your correct return address and daytime telephone number in case we need to contact you.
Department of Motor Vehicles
Bring the plate(s) and decal to any DMV office and surrender them to a technician inside the office. Do not place them in a drop box unless it specifically marked for license plates.
You do not need an appointment.
You may cancel the registration and keep personalized or specialty plates as a souvenir. Bring the rear plate to the DMV and scrape off the decal in person.
If you wish to allow another person to use an existing set of license plates that you currently own, you must complete a License Plate Release (SP 67). The new plate owner must submit this form when obtaining an original vehicle registration. The current registration for the plate number will be canceled if is not already. Registration fee credits may not be transferred to the new owner.
You will receive a credit for the unused portion of the current registration fees when you cancel your registration.
The credit will be available until the date your registration would have expired or until you use it on another registration. (Credits no longer decline on a pro-rata basis.)
You can use the credit only toward the registration or renewal of another vehicle which is registered in your name. The fee to use credit on another vehicle is $6.
You may renew other vehicles at any time in person at the DMV. You do not have to wait for the expiration date to approach. If your vehicle requires a smog check, you must have a new test completed if the last one is more than 90 days old.
Credits cannot be applied to sales taxes or transferred to another person.
Certain motorists may qualify for a refund of registration fees. The criteria for registration refunds are mandated by the State Legislature and not the Department of Motor Vehicles. (NRS 482.399 subsection 9)
Full or partial registration fee refunds are available to Nevada residents under limited circumstances. No refunds are issued to former residents.
Only unused portions of the Registration Fees, Governmental Services Taxes and Supplemental Governmental Services Taxes are refundable. Specialty plate fees, sales taxes and other fees are not refunded.
Refunds are not issued at the DMV office. The DMV will accept the refund application along with the Nevada license plates you are surrendering.
If approved, you will receive a check within 6-8 weeks from the date we receive the plates. If an application is denied, you will receive notification from the DMV.
The following criteria must be met to qualify for a refund:
All of the above criteria must be met, and at least one of the following extenuating circumstances must apply: