Do not buy a vehicle with an orange-colored salvage title. The vehicle must be rebuilt before it is sold to a private party.
Consumer Tips/After a Crash
A vehicle that has been issued an orange-colored salvage title may not be registered in Nevada until it has been inspected by a Nevada registered garage, Nevada licensed body shop or Nevada licensed rebuilder.(NRS 487.860)
Remove your license plates from a totaled vehicle. You may:
- Transfer them to another vehicle within 30 days
- Surrender them to the DMV and apply for a registration fee refund.
(You must have a copy of the Salvage Title to apply for a refund.)
- Return them to the Department within 60 days for standard issue plates or within 30 days for special plates. You will receive a credit toward another registration.
See Plate Surrender/Refunds. You must transfer or surrender the plates before you cancel the liability insurance if you intend to retain ownership of the vehicle and register it in your name.
If you have collision/comprehensive insurance coverage
You may transfer ownership to the insurance company or to a DMV-licensed salvage pool, automobile auction, rebuilder, automobile wrecker or a new or used motor vehicle dealer.
Or, you and your insurance company may agree that you can retain the vehicle.
If you do not have collision/comprehensive coverage
It is your responsibility to assess whether the vehicle meets the definition of a salvage vehicle.
If there is a loan or lease on a vehicle, you must notify the lienholder within 10 days and the lienholder must apply for a Salvage Title within 30 days.
If there is no lienholder, you must either apply for a Salvage Title within 30 days or sell the vehicle to a DMV-licensed salvage pool, automobile auction, rebuilder, automobile wrecker or a new or used motor vehicle dealer. See Salvage Title Procedures.
You may not sell the vehicle without first obtaining a Salvage Title. You may not sell the vehicle to a private party without rebuilding it.
If you retain a salvage vehicle
Read and follow all of the procedures on this page carefully. A rebuilt vehicle must be inspected by a licensed garage or body shop and the DMV before it can be sold or registered. It is the owner's responsibility to complete these steps and obtain a standard blue Nevada title before the sale.
If you retain the vehicle but choose not to rebuild it, you can sell it only to a DMV-licensed salvage pool, automobile auction, rebuilder, automobile wrecker or a new or used motor vehicle dealer.
Improperly selling a salvage vehicle can be a serious felony offense. Sellers must disclose in writing that the vehicle is a salvage vehicle. See Salvage Vehicle Laws and Penalties.