The DMV may call the dealer to verify whether taxes have been paid.
Many dealers remit sales tax payments with the title paperwork sent to the DMV Central Services Division. If the amount remitted is more than the amount due, the DMV will process a refund. If the amount remitted is less, the entire transaction will be returned to the dealer.
Dealers who have questions on the calculation of sales tax should contact the Title Section at (775) 684-4810, 8:00 am to 1:00 p.m. only.
Utah: Utah dealers do not pay sales tax to Utah on out-of-state vehicle sales. Often, however, they will indicate the estimated amount of Nevada sales tax due as taxes paid to Utah. The full amount of Nevada sales tax is due on vehicles purchased in Utah regardless of any statement on the contract. The estimate on the contract may be different than the actual amount due.
ELT: Nevada uses an Electronic Lien and Title system. Any dealer or financial institution that creates a lien on a vehicle must supply a Nevada ELT number.
Odometer Disclosure is required on all 2011 and newer vehicles and must be completed on a secure form such as a Title, Dealer Reassignment of Title or a Secure Power of Attorney.
If the dealer is providing you with the title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin, please ensure the dealer completes the Odometer Disclosure section on this document.
Dealers may also provide the original copy of a Reassignment of Title or Secure Power of Attorney if the vehicle is being financed.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration now requires odometer disclosures until vehicles are 20 years old, beginning with vehicles of the 2011 model year. The previous rule was 10 years. Older titles may indicate vehicles are exempt after nine model years. This is no longer true.
Keep your Nevada license plates. These may be transferred to your new vehicle or surrendered at the DMV if you wish to get new plates.
You will receive a credit for the unused portion of the current registration. There is a $6 transfer fee on transferred plates.
You may wish to cancel your current registration through MyDMV to maximize your credit. However, you must use the plates on another vehicle or surrender them within 30 days of cancellation.
Vehicle History Checks
Use the Vehicle Identification Number to query the following services. There are also any number of commercial services available.
You must have a movement permit and insurance to drive any vehicle on public streets.
If you will be driving the vehicle to Nevada, make sure you obtain a permit that enables you to drive across state lines. Laws vary by state.
If the dealer did not issue a permit or it will expire before you can register the vehicle, you can obtain a movement permit at any DMV office. Bring the sales contract or other proof of ownership. No appointment is necessary.
Register Your Vehicle
You must register the vehicle at a DMV office before the expiration date of any movement permit issued or 30 days maximum. Make an appointment at our offices in Carson City, Henderson, Las Vegas or Reno. Vehicles 26,001 pounds and heavier are registered through Motor Carrier.
License Plates from your current vehicle, if you are surrendering them for a fee credit
License Plate Forms for new personalized or specialty plates
You must obtain liability insurance from a Nevada-licensed carrier in the exact name(s) which will be on the registration and title. The effective date of the policy must be equal or previous to the registration date. Out-of-state insurance is not accepted.
You must apply any tax exemption at the time of registration. We do not issue refunds or apply exemptions retroactively.
A Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection is required on all vehicles that have never been registered or titled in Nevada. All DMV offices conduct inspections.
Larger DMV offices have a separate VIN Inspection Station. You can obtain an inspection at any time without an appointment prior to registering the vehicle.
At rural and County Assessor offices, the VIN inspection is completed at the same time you are registering the vehicle.
You may also have a sworn law enforcement officer complete the inspection and complete the VP 015 form.
To register and title a vehicle to a family trust, the name of the trust must be on the documents issued by the dealer. You need a Trustee Appointment and Powers Affidavit (VP 188) or court-certified trust documents in addition to all other requirements.
The name of a trustee can be added to the registration.
The name of the insured on the Nevada Evidence of Insurance must match either a name of a trustee on the registration or the trust to which the vehicle will be registered and titled.
Look for a gold star in the upper right corner of your driver's license or state ID. If it's not there, you may wish to upgrade to a Real ID at the same time you register your vehicle.
Licenses and ID cards must be Real ID compliant for use as identification to board aircraft beginning May 7, 2025.
The vehicle registration gives you the right to drive the car or truck on public highways. The Certificate of Registration and your Nevada Evidence of Insurance must be kept in the vehicle. Evidence of Insurance may also be kept on a mobile device.
The vehicle title shows ownership. It should be stored with your other important papers and not kept in the vehicle.