Nevada Emission Control Program
- New vehicles are now exempt from testing until their fourth registration!
- New requirements for Classic Vehicle plates are now in effect.
- Use the Online Station Search to find emission testing stations, repair stations and stations that offer registration renewals
Do I Need a Test?
Nevada requires emission tests each year. Inspection stations in Nevada are privately owned and decentralized.
Passenger cars, trucks, RVs and motor homes need a test if they are:
- Based in the urban areas of Clark or Washoe county;
- Gasoline powered (regardless of weight or size);
- Diesel powered with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating up to and including 14,000 pounds; and
- 1968 model year or newer
- a new vehicle at its fourth registration. The first three registrations are exempt. Hybrids are exempt for five model years.
Emission tests are valid for 90 days. If the vehicle was purchased from a Nevada dealer, the test is valid for 180 days from the date of the test.
Any used car dealer in Nevada must provide a valid passing emissions test with any vehicle they sell that is going to be registered in Clark or Washoe counties. In private transactions, the test is the buyer’s responsibility.
- If your check engine light is on, get your vehicle tested anyway. If repairs end up being costly, a failing test is the first step in the waiver process.
- Check your gas cap if the light comes on suddenly. A loose gas cap is a common problem.
- You can get a movement permit to drive the vehicle legally if the registration is expired.
- If the light is flashing, stop immediately. This indicates a serious malfunction.
- Had repairs done? Has your battery been replaced recently? Don't take your vehicle in for a test right away. The test will show "Rejected" even if the check engine light is off. 1996 and newer vehicles need to be driven under varying conditions for up to one week in order for the On Board Diagnostics system to run all of its tests.
- Gasoline vehicles in Nevada must not emit visible smoke, regardless of the county where they are registered. Smoking vehicles can be subject to citation and/or mandatory testing.
Test Failures and Waivers
If your vehicle has failed the initial emission test, you must repair it and pass a second test to be eligible for registration. If it still fails after repairs, you may be eligible for a waiver if you meet the requirements below.
If your registration is expired or about to expire, you can get a movement permit online through MyDMV or at a DMV office. You may be charged late fees and/or cited by law enforcement if you operate a vehicle on public streets with an expired registration.
The following applies to gasoline-powered vehicles. See the Diesel Emission Requirements flier for diesel waivers.
If the vehicle still fails after being repaired, it may be eligible for a waiver. Your vehicle must fail:
- Carbon monoxide and/or hydrocarbon levels exceeding standards for 1968-1995 light duty vehicles and all heavy duty vehicles, or;
- Illuminated “Check Engine” lamp for 1996 and newer light duty vehicles.
Waivers will not be issued to:
- Vehicles eligible for warranty coverage.
- Smoking Vehicles - The vehicle must be repaired with no limit on cost.
- Emission Device Tampering – The vehicle must be repaired with no limit on cost.
A waiver is only valid one year. The vehicle must be repaired prior to the next registration year.
Emission components could be covered under warranty for up to 8 yrs or 80,000 miles, whichever occurs first, under federal law. See EPA Emissions Warranties for 1995 and Newer Light-duty Cars and Trucks.
The vehicle must be repaired by a 2G Licensed Authorized Station to be eligible for a waiver. The waiver application must include receipts from the station showing that at least $450 has been spent on parts other than a catalytic converter, fuel inlet restrictor or air injection system, or on labor other than emission testing if the repairs evidenced by the receipt were directly related to the deficiency in emissions.
If the vehicle is not repaired at an authorized 2G station, it will not be eligible for a waiver, regardless of the cost incurred. See Business License Verification for a list of stations.
Smog Free Clark County Voucher program
The Clark County Division of Air Quality will pay up to $975 for emissions-related repairs on 1968-1995 vehicles. Owner income restrictions apply. See SmogFreeClarkCounty.com.
Waiver repairs may be made by a 2G Licensed Authorized Station or the owner. Vehicles repaired at a non-2G garage are not eligible for a waiver. See Business License Verification for a list of stations.
If the vehicle is repaired at a station, an application for a waiver must include receipts from the station showing that at least $200 has been spent on parts other than a catalytic converter, fuel inlet restrictor or air injection system, or on labor other than emission testing if the repairs evidenced by the receipt were directly related to the deficiency in emissions.
If the vehicle is repaired by the owner, the application must include receipts or other evidence that at least $200 has been spent on parts other than a catalytic converter, fuel inlet restrictor or air injection system purchased within 14 days after the initial emission test.
If you still fail after repairs - If you failed the initial test, did the repairs pursuant to your county's requirements, met the financial limit to obtain a waiver and your vehicle still fails for hydrocarbons/carbon monoxide or a Check Engine light, bring your vehicle, both failed certificates, and receipts for all repair work to a DMV Emission Lab to request a waiver.
List of exempt vehicles
The following vehicles are exempt from emission testing:
- New motor vehicles on their first three registrations
- New hybrid-electric vehicles for the first five model years
- 1967 or older
- Motorcycle, mopeds, and most tri-mobiles
- Vehicles based in remote areas of Clark and Washoe counties and all other Nevada counties (see Testing Areas Maps below or call us)
- Electric vehicles and vehicles that run permanently on propane, compressed natural gas, methane, or butane
- Diesel vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 14,001 pounds or greater
- Transfer of ownership/registration if the last test was conducted within 90 days before the transfer (180 days on a Nevada dealer sale)
- Transfer of ownership/registration between husband and wife
- Transfer of ownership/registration between companies whose principal business is leasing vehicles if there is no change in the lessee or operator of the vehicle
- Vehicles registered as a Classic Rod, Classic Vehicle or Old Timer and driven 5,000 miles or less per year. The owner must file an odometer affidavit each year
- Vehicles registered as a Replica Vehicle
- Fleet vehicles participating in the Continuous Monitoring program
Classic Vehicle Exemption
Vehicles registered with Classic Vehicle, Classic Rod or Old Timer license plates and driven 5,000 miles or less per year are exempt from emission testing.
Classic Vehicle Insurance
To claim the emissions inspection each year, you must complete the Odometer Certification for Emission Exemption (EC 018) to certify that you have driven the vehicle 5,000 miles or less. (NRS 445B.760 and NAC 445B.574). Beginning with renewals due January 1, 2023, you will also have to submit your insurance Declarations page.
Mail the EC 018 and Declarations page with your annual renewal or you may renew in person. Your registration renewal notice will list "Smog Check Required" each year. You will not be able to use alternate renewals. You must renew in person or by mail. If you do not meet the driving restrictions listed above, you need to obtain an emissions inspection, renew in person and obtain a different license plate style.
If you have received a failing emission test within the last 90 days, you will not be able to obtain the license plates for the emission exemption.
To obtain the plates and exemption, you must complete one of the following applications and the vehicle must meet the requirements listed:
- Classic Vehicle License Plate Application (SP 34)
- Classic Rod License Plate Application (SP 20)
- Old Timer License Plate Application (SP 12)
You must also complete a Odometer Certification for Emission Exemption (EC 018) and, beginning in 2023, your insurance Declarations page.
Classic Vehicle/Rod plates may be personalized using the Classic Rod/Classic Vehicle Personalized Prestige License Plate Application (SP 97).
There are several fees for initial issuance:
- $36 Specialty Plate Fee and Prison Industry Fee
- $36 Personalized Plate Fee if ordering personalized plates
- $6 Pollution Control Fee for vehicles registered in Clark and Washoe counties
- $5 Substitute Plate Fee if the vehicle is currently registered in Nevada
Bring the completed application, the EC 18, any existing license plates and your Nevada Evidence of Insurance to a DMV office.
We will issue your new plates with a new registration slip and decal. No registration renewal is required and your expiration date will remain the same.
You have the option of renewing your vehicle registration for a full year. Your expiration date will change if the current expiration date is more than 35 days away. Credit will be given for the unused portion of your current Nevada registration.
If your vehicle is not currently registered in Nevada, you must meet all other registration requirements.
See also Classic Vehicle License Plates.
|Vehicle Type||Inspection Fee||Certificate Fee||Total Fee|
|Light Duty - Gasoline||$56.00||$6.00||$62.00|
|Heavy Duty - Gasoline||$57.50||$6.00||$63.50|
|Vehicle Type||Inspection Fee||Certificate Fee||Total Fee|
|Light Duty - Gasoline||$53.00||$6.00||$59.00|
|Heavy Duty - Gasoline||$55.50||$6.00||$61.50|
- The Department of Motor Vehicles sets maximum emission testing fees based on an annual survey of hourly labor rates at stations within each county. Industry Bulletin
- Fee discounts and other promotions are not mandated by State law and are offered at the discretion of the individual station.
- Stations must post their fees. A station must not put a new fee into effect until a written request to list the new fee is submitted and acknowledged by the Department.
- Stations which offer registration renewals are allowed to charge a maximum of $10.00 for this service in addition to the fees listed here.
- Gasoline-powered vehicles up to 8,500 pounds are classed as light duty. Vehicles 8,501 pounds or greater are considered heavy duty.
- Diesel vehicles up to 14,000 pounds must undergo emission testing. There is a single fee.
Testing Area Maps
You must complete an emission inspection If your renewal notice says "Smog Check Required" or if you are registering a newly-purchased vehicle that requires a test.
Emission testing is required in the Las Vegas Valley (hydrographic drainage basin 212) and within a five-mile buffer zone around it. This covers the entire Mount Charleston area including Kyle Canyon and Lee Canyon Roads, Blue Diamond and Bonnie Springs.
The only exceptions are vehicles based in the community of Goodsprings, which is near the border of the buffer zone. The community of Jean is outside the buffer zone.
Emission testing is required in Reno, Sparks, Washoe Valley and most of the area west of Washoe Valley. Testing is also required in the areas north and east of Reno between Interstate 80 and the 40th degree of north latitude (about midway through Pyramid Lake).
The Emission Program
Diesel Testing and Enforcement
Nevada has annual testing for light-duty diesel vehicles and roadside enforcement for heavy-duty vehicles.
Fleet Continuous Monitoring
Businesses with fleets of vehicles can avoid annual emission tests with this new program.
On Board Diagnostics
Your yearly smog check on 1996 and newer vehicles is done through OBD II, rather than the older "tail pipe" test.
Business and Inspector Licensing
Stations are licensed through Vehicle Industry Licensing.
Emission Advisory Committee
The Nevada Advisory Committee on Control of Emissions from Motor Vehicles meets quarterly to discuss the program's status and upcoming legislation.
The Emission Program is operated by the DMV Compliance Enforcement Division (CED), the law enforcement arm of the DMV.
Customer Fliers and Tip Sheets
Online Emission Station Search
- Gasoline (EC 002)
- Light Duty Diesel (EC 004)
- Information and Requirements for Emission Testing (EC 031)
- Tri-Fold Pamphlet
Failure Notice to Motorists
Vehicle Information Database (VID)
Access for licensed emission stations only. No public information is available.
Approved Emission Testing Equipment
Emission Station Official Sign Template
Emission Renewal Station Logos
See Occupational and Business Licensing for business license application forms.
For 1G and Diesel Inspectors
You must be at least 18 years of age to become a licensed Emission inspector.
Emission Inspector Licensing Application Packets
Approved Outside Training Providers (EC 079)
Print these publications if you are taking the 1G Inspector class.
- 1G Inspectors Guidebook - Las Vegas (115 pages)
- 1G Inspectors Guidebook - Reno (41 pages)
- License Plate Matrix
- W Error Codes
- Applicants Guide and Training Checklist (EC 030)
Print these publications if you are taking the Diesel Inspector class.
- Diesel Inspector Workbook (96 pages)
- License Plate Matrix
Links to Other Agencies
- Clark County Department of Air Quality Management
- Washoe County Air Quality Management Division
- Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
- Nevada Environmental Commission
- U.S. EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality
- U.S. EPA Green Vehicle Guide
- National OBD Clearinghouse
- Worldwide Environmental Products, Inc.
Emission Program Activity Reports
- 2021 I/M Program Activity
- 2020 I/M Program Activity
- 2019 I/M Program Activity
- 2018 I/M Program Activity
- 2017 I/M Program Activity
- Final Report on 2016 Assembly Bill 146 Study
- 2016 I/M Program Activity
- 2015 I/M Program Activity
- 2014 I/M Program Activity
- 2013 I/M Program Activity
- 2012 I/M Program Activity
- 2011 I/M Program Activity
- 2010 I/M Program Activity
- Air Pollution General, 445B.100 - 445B.845
- NRS Air Pollution Index
- Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 445B
- All Motor Vehicle Laws
Engine emission controls
- Fees, 445B.830
- Inspection and testing, 482.461, 484D.560, 484D.570
- Prevention of emissions, 484D.415
- Use required under certain conditions, 484D.535, 484D.540
A vehicle which emits visible smoke will not pass an emission inspection and does not qualify for any waiver. Law enforcement may issue citations for visible smoke.
The Nevada DMV also operates the Smog Spotter program to encourage the public to report smoking vehicles online or by telephone. The DMV will investigate reports on any vehicle with a Nevada registration, including heavy-duty diesel trucks and vehicles based in rural areas. Online reporting is available in English and Spanish.
Emission calls only! For other DMV issues, see Contact Us.
DMV Emission Lab
2621 E. Sahara Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Sahara DMV Map
DMV Emission Lab
9155 Double Diamond Pkwy.
Reno, NV 89521
Reno DMV Map