Diesel Emissions

Light-Duty Testing Top ↑

Diesel Tailpipe

Diesel-powered cars and trucks need an annual emissions test if they:

Please note that the manufacturer's weight rating is used to determine whether an emission inspection is required. The declared weight rating used to assess registration fees may be different. Both will be listed on your registration renewal notice, which will also indicate whether a smog check is required.

Emissions tests are valid for 90 days. If the vehicle was purchased from a Nevada dealer, the test is valid for 180 days from the date of the test.

You must have a valid test to complete any original registration or renewal if the vehicle requires a test as listed above. This includes reinstatement of a suspended registration.

Nevada requires used car dealers to issue a valid emissions test, when required, on any vehicle they sell. In private transactions, the test is the buyer's responsibility.

Light duty diesel vehicles undergo testing on a dynamometer. The technician will also perform an opacity test and a visual inspection of the emissions components.

Waiver requirements for vehicles that fail to pass even after repairs are listed in the Diesel Emissions Requirements flier.

The DMV sets the maximum testing fees stations may charge based on an annual survey. Discounts are offered at each station's discretion. Stations which offer registration renewals are allowed to charge an additional $10 fee for this service.

Light-Duty Diesel Emission Inspection Stations Top ↑

Diesel vehicles up to 14,000 pounds are required to undergo annual emissions testing.

To locate a testing station, see Business License Verification and choose Diesel as shown.

Emission station screenshot

Full Time All-Wheel Drive and Traction Control

The following stations are capable of testing these vehicles subject to the size restrictions listed. An annual emissions test is required unless the vehicle is otherwise exempt.

Clark County

Smog Hut
184" wheelbase or less
2218 E. Cheyenne Ave.
North Las Vegas, NV 89030
(702) 399-3900

Washoe County

Nevada Auto Diagnostics
181" wheelbase or less
5425 Louie Lane
Reno, NV 89511
(775) 825-7664

Contact the stations for more information. Other stations are capable of testing only 2-wheel drive vehicles or 4-wheel drive vehicles running in 2-wheel mode.

Heavy-Duty Diesel Enforcement Top ↑

Helping Nevada Breathe Easier

HDD Enforcement VehicleNevada’s DMV Compliance Enforcement Division employs the Heavy Duty Diesel Enforcement Team of experienced, sworn peace officers that patrol our state in marked law enforcement vehicles. Team members possess full peace officer powers and conduct traffic stops to address observed violations of Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Codes.

The DMV’s Heavy Duty Diesel Enforcement Team also conducts periodic inspections at highway check-sites and weigh stations.

Team members have earned and maintain certifications to calibrate, maintain and employ mobile equipment in order to conduct field inspections as well as conduct courtesy inspections of Nevada-based fleets at the request of fleet owners.

Smoking Truck

Heavy Duty Diesel Standards

Nevada uses the Society of Automotive Engineers J1667 Snap Acceleration Test for exhaust opacity regulations.

While traveling in Nevada, the required air quality standards will be enforced statewide. Vehicles registered in other states are not exempt.

For heavy duty diesel related questions, please call (775) 684-3562.

Contacts Top ↑

Las Vegas Reno
DMV Emissions Lab
2621 E. Sahara Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89104
(702) 486-4981
DMV Emissions Lab
9155 Double Diamond Parkway
Reno, NV 89521
(775) 684-3580
Emissions calls only! For other DMV issues, see Contact Us.