Notify Your Former State Top ↑
Several states require former residents to return license plates. Others have fines or penalties if you fail to notify them of your move. See 50 State DMV Links.
Items Needed for a Typical Transfer Top ↑
As a first-time applicant, you will be required to provide proof of your identity (name, date of birth and possibly any name changes), separate proof of your social security number if one has been issued to you and two documents that prove your Nevada residential address. You must also surrender any existing U.S.-issued license or ID.
Your Existing, State-Issued Driver License, Instruction Permit or ID Card
This must contain your name and date of birth. You must also provide additional proof of identity as listed in Residency and Proof of Identity.
Licenses and ID cards are issued at a central location and mailed to the customer 7 to 10 days after application. We will punch a hole in your existing license or ID and return it to you with a paper interim document. Your existing license will be canceled in your previous state.
Nevada requires special endorsements for Class C license holders to tow multiple trailers or trailers in excess of 10,000 pounds. Additional testing is required.
Additional Proof of Identity & Nevada Residential Address
Nevada has three sets of requirements for proof of identity. Most motorists will apply for a Real ID driver's license or a standard Nevada license.
Those who cannot meet the requirements for a Real ID or standard license may apply for a Driver Authorization Card (DAC), which is not valid for identification.
You must bring all of the following:
• Proof of Identity AND
• If you have changed your name, Proof of All Name Change(s) AND
• Proof of Social Security number AND
• Proof of your Nevada residential address (two documents) AND
• Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card (DMV 002):
English | Spanish | Tagalog
See Residency and Proof of Identity for details and lists of documents.
Veterans with an honorable discharge may present their evidence of honorable discharge to have a Veteran designation placed on their license. Visit archives.gov to obtain a copy of a DD-214 or other evidence of honorable discharge. Anyone may elect to become an Organ Donor.
Nevada Evidence of Insurance
Be sure the name(s) on your insurance match the names(s) on your registration exactly. Insurance must be issued by a Nevada-licensed carrier. Out of state insurance is not accepted. If you are moving from another state, you must notify your agent or insurance company that you have moved to Nevada. Or, purchase a new policy here. Nevada accepts Evidence of Insurance on mobile devices.
Nevada insurance is necessary to comply with Nevada LIVE electronic verification. The minimum liability insurance requirement is $25,000/$50,000/$20,000. You must keep Nevada Evidence of Insurance in your vehicle at all times and present it to law enforcement upon request.
Nevada Emissions Vehicle Inspection Report (if needed)
Smog checks are required on gasoline and diesel powered cars and trucks, 1968 and newer, based in and around Las Vegas and Reno. New vehicles are exempt on their first and second registration. Hybrid-electric vehicles are exempt for the first five model years. Diesel vehicles with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating over 14,000 pounds are also exempt.
You must have a Nevada smog check even if your vehicle was recently tested in another state. Nevada emission inspection stations are privately owned and decentralized. Look for a station near your new home or see Business License Verification for sortable lists. See Diesel Inspection Stations if you have a diesel vehicle. See Emissions for more information.
Title(s), Unless Held By Lienholder
You have the option of retaining your out-of-state title. However, we strongly suggest getting a Nevada title if your vehicle is paid for. This will minimize problems when you sell your vehicle.
Your Current Registration(s), License Plates and Odometer Reading(s)
Expired registrations are subject to late fees. New residents must surrender their out-of-state plates. Please write down your current odometer reading.
Most trailers must be registered and titled if used on any public street. If your former state does not register and/or title trailers, call or email for an explanation of requirements.
A third party may register the vehicle for you. The person must also present an Application for Vehicle Registration (VP 222) signed by the owner. Or, the third party may present a completed Power of Attorney (VP 136) or a General Power of Attorney instead of a VP 222. Any Power of Attorney must be notarized and be an original or certified copy.
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Inspection
Any vehicle or trailer which has never been registered or titled in Nevada must be inspected. This is done at DMV offices. At larger offices, drive to the VIN inspection station outside the main DMV building first. No appointment is required.
VIN inspections may also be completed by a sworn law enforcement officer, or at any participating business authorized by the Department in accordance with NRS 482.220, using the Vehicle Inspection Certificate (VP 015). Mopeds are inspected using the Moped Registration Application/Inspection (VP 30).
The DMV accepts cash, checks, money orders for the exact amount due, electronic checks, Visa, MasterCard and Discover. Out-of-state checks are accepted with the approval of a supervisor.
Have your VIN ready and use our Online Fee Estimate for estimates of vehicle registration fees. (Estimate only - total fees will be slightly higher.) Nevada charges basic registration fees and taxes based on the value of your vehicle. We do not give credits or refunds of other states' fees.
Most Nevada driver's licenses are valid for 8 years and cost $42.25. Licenses issued to those 65 and older will be valid for 4 years and cost $18.25.
A $26 testing fee applies for knowledge and skills testing. See Driver License Fees.
Your DMV Visit Top ↑
Make an appointment! DMV offices in Carson City, Las Vegas and Reno offer appointments. DMV technicians handle both driver license and registration transactions at the same time. Arrive early to complete your VIN inspection or complete multiple VIN inspections in advance.
Make sure you have all of the required documents such as proof of identity, driver's license application, your existing vehicle registration, Nevada Evidence of Insurance and current odometer reading.
Get your Vehicle Identification Number(s) ready and use our Online Registration Fee Estimate.
Email or call with any further questions. If you are out-of-state, call (775) 684-4368 Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific time.
Out-of-state license plates must be surrendered. Plates are usually removed at the DMV office. Be sure to bring your own tools.
Visit our License Plates pages if you are interested in personalized or specialty plates. Plates with standard numbering are issued over the counter. We encourage you to order personalized plates by mail if you can place the order approximately 60 days before you register your vehicle. If you order personalized plates at the office, we will issue a paper movement permit and mail the new plates to you.
Your DMV Office
Find the DMV Full Service office nearest your home. County Assessors in certain rural areas offer vehicle registration services but you must visit a DMV office for a driver license or ID card. Commercial drivers must visit a CDL Office for all license transactions. Make an appointment at larger offices.
Larger DMV offices have a VIN Inspection Station outside the main office. Drive there first for your inspection(s). If you have multiple vehicles, you may have the inspections completed individually and register the vehicles all at once. DMV technicians handle both driver's license and vehicle registration at the same time.
Driving Tests Top ↑
All applicants take the vision test. Drivers who have never been licensed or those who currently hold a license from most foreign countries must take knowledge (written) and skills (driving) tests.
Drivers who currently hold a valid license from the U.S., a U.S. territory or Canada may or may not have to take the knowledge and skills tests. Drivers under the age of 21 are required to take the knowledge test. Drivers who have misplaced their actual license may be required to take the knowledge and skills tests if the DMV cannot verify their licensing status.
Additionally, transferring drivers will be required to take the knowledge test if any of the following conditions exist:
- driver's license or privilege to drive expired or surrendered for more than one year (skills test required if more than 4 years)
- 3 or more convictions of moving violations in the past 4 years
- driver's license or privilege to drive suspended, revoked, canceled, or otherwise disqualified during the past 4 years
- a DUI conviction (drug- and/or alcohol-related offense) within the past 7 years
- any license restrictions which must be reevaluated to ensure the driver has the ability to drive safely (skills test may be required also)
- Applying for a different type or class of license (skills test may be required also)
All applications are checked through the national Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS). If your license is currently suspended, revoked, or canceled in another state, see Driver License Suspensions.
Commercial drivers must conduct all CDL transactions at a CDL Office.
|Driver Handbooks (PDF Format)|
|English | Spanish | Motorcycle | Audio|
|Parents Supervised Driving Program|
|Printed Guide | RoadReady App|
|Use the Driver Handbook to study for the written test. The Parents Program is for practical training.|
|Non-Commercial Study Guide|
|Class A & B, J Endorsement|
|Full Handbook | Hazardous Materials|
Online Sample Test
Teen Driving Top ↑
Drivers with an out-of-state instruction permit can drive in Nevada provided there is a licensed driver, 21 or older, with at least one year of driving experience seated next to the beginning driver at all times.
Out-of-state permits must be surrendered to obtain a Nevada permit or license. Additional proof of identity is required as outlined above. You must be age 15½, pass the vision and written tests and present proof of school attendance to obtain a Nevada Instruction Permit.
The minimum age to obtain a driver license is 16. Most teens must complete driver education and a log of the dates and times of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel experience. See Nevada Teen Driving for complete details.
All drivers under 18 must obey a driving curfew. Teens are not allowed to drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless they are traveling to or from a scheduled event such as work or school.
Vehicle Registration Fees & Tax Relief Top ↑
The basic registration fee for vehicles under 6,000 pounds is $34. There is a graduated scale for higher weights. Trailers up to 1,000 pounds are $13; 1,000 or above are $25. Nevada charges $29.25 for first-time vehicle titles and small fees for items such as license plates.
Nevada also charges taxes based on the value of the vehicle:
- Governmental Services Tax helps fund local government and schools. It is approximately 1.4% of the depreciated Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price.
- Supplemental Governmental Services Tax helps fund road improvements. This is charged in Clark and Churchill counties only. It is 25% of the Governmental Services Tax.
- Sales Taxes on Dealer Purchases is collected on dealer sales of vehicles in Nevada or vehicles recently purchased from an out-of-state dealer for the purpose of Nevada registration. See the Nevada Department of Taxation Sales and Use Tax Publications for current rates, which vary by county.
County Assessors can approve Governmental Services Tax relief for veterans with certain dates of service, disabled veterans, surviving spouses and the blind. You must present a tax exemption statement from the assessor's office when registering your vehicle. No exemptions are age-based. These exemptions only apply to the Governmental Services Tax. Contact your County Assessor for specific requirements and see NRS Chapter 371. Veterans may designate all or part of their exemption for the Nevada Veterans Home Account.
Active duty military members who are residents of another state but stationed in Nevada qualify for Governmental Services Tax exemptions. Spouses qualify as well. See Military Licensing for information and forms.
Native American tribal members who reside on tribal lands also qualify for Governmental Services Tax exemptions. They must have the Application for Governmental Services Tax Exemption (VP 154) signed by the Tribal Chairperson.
License Plates and Disabled Parking Top ↑
Nevada requires two license plates on motorized vehicles except for motorcycles, unless the vehicle is not designed for a front plate and no front plate bracket is available from the manufacturer. Plates are issued to the owner and not the vehicle. Keep your Nevada plates if you sell a vehicle.
Personalized plates in the standard design are limited to 7 letters and/or numbers. They cost $44 when ordered and $20 per year to renew. Specialty plates are available for Nevada universities, veterans, Purple Heart recipients, Ex-Prisoners of War, street rods and a number of charitable causes. Costs for specialty plates vary. You can order custom plates by mail in advance of your move. See License Plates.
Nevada issues special plates and/or a placard which can be used on any vehicle. The disabled resident must have a Nevada DMV application signed by a licensed physician verifying that he or she has a permanent disability which restricts the ability to walk. Use the Application for Disabled Persons Plates/Placards SP-27. See Disabled Parking.
Motorcycles, Mopeds & Off-Highway Vehicles Top ↑
Nevada transfers most motorcycle endorsements from other states. If you take the skills test on a motorcycle under 90cc, your license will be restricted to that size or smaller. You must hold a Class M motorcycle license to drive a motorcycle.
A driver's license of any class is required for trimobiles and mopeds. A Class M license is not required. You must have a driver's license to operate a moped on any public street.
A driver's license is not required to operate an off-highway vehicle (except on public highways which are designated for OHV use).
Motorcycles are registered and insured under the same procedures as cars and trucks. See Motorcycles & Trimobiles.
Mopeds 50cc or less, with less than 2 horsepower, must be registered but you do not need insurance or a Class M license. Mopeds over 50cc are considered motorcycles. See Mopeds.
Off-highway vehicles, ATV's, non-street-legal motorcycles, snowmobiles, etc. must be registered. Applications are accepted by mail only and decals are issued by mail only. See the Nevada Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles for details.
Riders on motorcycles, trimobiles and mopeds are required to wear helmets that meet U.S. Department of Transportation standards. Helmet use is not required for other vehicles but is strongly suggested. Eye protection or a windscreen is also required.
Boats & Manufactured Housing Top ↑
Water vessels are registered and titled by the Nevada Division of Wildlife. Trailers are registered by the DMV. Nearly all trailers must be registered to be driven on any public highway. You must complete a VIN inspection on trailers which have never been registered or titled in Nevada.
Manufactured Homes and commercial coaches are taxed by County Assessors and titled by the Nevada Department of Business and Industry. If you are moving a home into Nevada or buying one here, it is important to contact both agencies. See Manufactured Homes and Recreational Park Trailers.