Insurance

Nevada liability insurance is required on registered vehicles in Nevada and on public streets. There are no grace periods.

You must carry Nevada Evidence of Liability Insurance in the vehicle or on a mobile device.

newClassic vehicle insurance will be required on vehicles with certain plate styles next year. See Classic Vehicle Plates.

Skip the Trip!

There is no need to visit a DMV office for most insurance issues. Start with these services and read the instructions below.

Cancel your registration before you drop liability insurance for any reason!

Car illustration with blue shield under blue umbrella

Got a DMV Notice?

It's important that you respond to mailed notices from the DMV, even if you are sure you have coverage or you have moved or sold the vehicle.

The DMV first mails a Verification Request if we can't verify coverage or it appears there is a lapse in coverage. You must respond within 15 days of the mailing date. If the DMV can confirm that you have had continuous coverage, the process ends.

If your coverage has actually lapsed or we cannot confirm coverage at all, the DMV will send a Certified Letter notifying you that your vehicle registration will be suspended. This will take effect 10 days after the date of mailing.

Motorists who have an actual lapse in coverage are subject to a registration suspension and reinstatement fees and penalties. See Penalties and Reinstatement. Even a one day lapse in coverage will result in a registration suspension.

If your registration is suspended, you may not drive the vehicle on any public street. Nevada law enforcement officers are required to confiscate the license plates from a vehicle driven on a suspended registration. They may also impound the vehicle.

Out-of-state insurance is not accepted. Your policy must be written for Nevada.

My registration is suspended but I don't have a notice

Have your license plate number or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) ready and contact NVLIVE. We will provide the dates of any lapse in coverage and instructions for reinstatement.

You may wish to log into MyDMV to check your registration and insurance status, update your policy information and your address if necessary. Or, Update Your Policy Information without a MyDMV account.

I have had insurance in effect continuously

Out-of-state insurance is not accepted and is considered a lapse.

  • Be sure to respond to the Verification Request. It indicates there is a problem in your insurance records. These are not sent randomly.
  • Do not visit a DMV office unless instructed to do so. Your insurance carrier(s) must send electronic records that show coverage for any dates in question.
  • Compare the Vehicle Identification Number on your vehicle to the Certificate of Registration and the Evidence of Insurance. They must match. The name on your registration and insurance must match.
  • Contact NVLIVE or your insurance agent. We can ask your carrier(s) to verify coverage.
  • You may wish to log into MyDMV to check your registration and insurance status, update your policy information and your address if necessary. Or, Update Your Policy Information without a MyDMV account.

I sold my vehicle or moved out of Nevada

Please respond to the Verification Request or Certified Letter.

If you have sold the vehicle or registered it in another state, you are not required to reinstate or pay any fees or fines. An insurance suspension will not result in any criminal charges or arrest warrant. However, reinstatement penalties will apply if you attempt to register the same vehicle in your name again in the future.

You should cancel the vehicle registration and update your address, if needed. Both transactions are available in MyDMV.

See Former Residents if you have moved out of Nevada.

My vehicle is under repair or in storage

You must cancel the registration before dropping the liability insurance on a vehicle for any reason.

If your registration is suspended, you must follow the Reinstatement procedures.

If the owner of the vehicle declares it dormant due to mechanical or seasonal circumstances during the period in question, the owner must sign a Dormant Vehicle Affidavit (NVL-003) and present documentation to verify the status.

If the owner of the vehicle experienced extenuating circumstances beyond their control, the owner may complete an affidavit and present original receipts and/or documentation to verify circumstance and time frames. Financial hardship does not qualify. Examples of extenuating circumstances are hospitalization, illness or a death in the family.

You must apply at a DMV office or a County Assessor that offers vehicle registration services. The Reinstatement Fee may be reduced to $50 if proper documentation is submitted. However, the Reinstatement Fine, SR-22 requirements, and Driver License Suspension will not be waived unless approved for possible reduction.

Penalties and Reinstatement

All reinstatements require current Nevada liability insurance that has been verified by the company. Have your Evidence of Insurance card, license plate number and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) ready.

You must reinstate in person at a DMV office if:

  • you are required to maintain an SR-22 insurance policy for this lapse.
  • you need a movement permit to drive the vehicle
  • you need new license plates

Penalties

Nevada has a tiered system of fees and fines. They are based on the length of the lapse of coverage and the number of previous lapses.

Length of Lapse: 1-30 Days 31-90 Days 91-180 Days 181 Days or More
1st Offense
Fee $250 $250 $250 $250
Fine   $250 $500 $1,000
SR-22 Insurance     Yes Yes
Totals $250 $500 $750 $1,250
2nd Offense Within Five Years
Fee $500 $500 $500 $500
Fine   $500 $500 $1,000
SR-22 Insurance     Yes Yes
Totals $500 $1,000 $1,000 $1,500
3rd Offense Within Five Years
Fee $750 $750 $750 $750
Fine   $500 $750 $1,000
SR-22 Insurance Yes Yes Yes Yes
Driver License Suspension Min. 30 days Min. 30 days Min. 30 days Min. 30 days
Totals $750 $1,250 $1,500 $1,750

Notes

  • "SR-22 Insurance" is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility that your insurance company will file with the DMV. The company will notify us immediately if you drop the coverage. Penalties for failure to maintain insurance under the SR-22 requirement include a driver license suspension.
  • The fees to reinstate a suspended driver license include a $75 reinstatement fee, the cost of the license and any applicable testing fees. See Driver License Suspensions and Revocations.
  • The penalties listed here are in addition to any penalties imposed by a court following a law enforcement citation.

Reinstatement Options

  • Online or Kiosk

    Online or Kiosk

    You may reinstate your registration online or at a kiosk if:

    • You have obtained Nevada liability insurance on the vehicle.
    • Your insurance company has validated the new coverage.
    • You have an access code that begins with R and your registration is currently suspended. You can obtain this from the certified suspension letter or by Contacting Us.

    Choose one of the following. Use MyDMV if you need to update your address.

    DMV accepts Visa, MasterCard and Discover. The online options also accept e-check. Kiosks charge an additional $1 processing fee.

  • Fax

    Fax

    The NVLIVE fax number is (775) 684-4543. You will need to fax the following documents:

  • In Person

    In Person

    See DMV Office Locations. Make an appointment for our offices in Carson City, Henderson, Las Vegas or Reno.

    You will need the following documents. You may sign the Declaration of Responsibility (NVL 019) at the DMV office rather than having it notarized.

    The DMV accepts cash, checks, money orders for the exact amount, Visa, MasterCard and Discover.

    Need a Real ID?

    Your driver's license or ID card will need to be Real ID compliant if you wish to use it to board aircraft beginning May 3, 2023. Get it at the same time you reinstate your registration. See Real ID.

Forms you may need:

Registration Renewal

You will be given the option to renew your registration if it would be otherwise expired or due for renewal within approximately 30 days.

If your vehicle requires an emission inspection and your registration is suspended, you must pay the reinstatement fee and obtain a movement permit to drive the vehicle for the test. Once the registration is reinstated and you have passed emissions, you may then renew online, at a kiosk or an emission station which offers renewals.

FAQs

Does Nevada allow Evidence of Insurance to be presented on a cell phone?

Yes. Evidence of Insurance may be presented on a printed card or in an electronic format to be displayed on a mobile electronic device.

Insurers are not required to provide electronic evidence. However, they must always provide a printed card upon request.

If you present your mobile device to another person to provide Evidence of Insurance:

  • You assume all liability for any damage to the device
  • A peace officer may view only the Evidence of Insurance and may not intentionally view any other content on the device
  • The Evidence of Insurance must be provided by your insurer and contain all of the information provided on a printed card.

How does DMV know when I don't have insurance?

Insurance companies licensed to do business in Nevada are required to electronically validate Nevada liability insurance policies.

The DMV's Nevada Liability Insurance Verification Electronically (NVLIVE) program periodically asks your insurance company if the vehicle has current Nevada liability insurance coverage.

How can I make sure my insurance is on file?

You can check the status of your insurance by using the Registration and Insurance Registration Status Inquiry. You will need the license plate number and last 4 digits of the VIN.

This will also tell you whether your vehicle registration is active and its expiration date.

Why did I receive a verification letter? Was I randomly selected?

Insurance Verification Notices are never random. Notices mean we do not have a valid record of your liability insurance coverage or that there is a possible lapse in the coverage. We will send a notice when the DMV is unable to verify the coverage with a confirmed response from a Nevada-licensed insurance company.

Often, this occurs when you change insurance companies. When you change companies, either you or your insurance agent must update your insurance information. You can update your insurance online. There are no grace periods.

How do I respond to the letter?

There is no need to visit a DMV office. You may reply online or by mail.

The first option is to complete your response online using the provided access code printed on your letter. Once you have accessed your vehicle, you will have the option to select your response. If you have maintained continuous insurance, you will be able to enter your policy information.

The website will let you know if the information you entered confirmed with your insurance company. If it does confirm immediately, you will receive a follow up letter letting you know the incident has been resolved.

If the insurance does not confirm, you will receive a message letting you know your response was received and you do not need to mail the notification back. We will mail your response to your insurance company to let them know we need your insurance records for the vehicle.

The second option is to complete the notification and mail it directly to our office. It is a business reply so there is no need for postage.

I lost the DMV letter, what can I do?

There are a couple of options to verify your insurance. Contact us. Your insurance agent can also contact their Home Office to request insurance be updated.

I entered my insurance information online but it says "pending"?

This means the insurance information you entered did not confirm with your insurance company’s database immediately. It does not mean you are not insured.

If you just purchased a new policy, it may take several days for the company to confirm it. You may wish to wait and try the Insurance and Registration Status Inquiry at a later time.

Compare your insurance policy and vehicle registration.It is important the insured name on your insruance card and the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) match the registration.If you change the name on your insurance, you must also change the name on your vehicle registration. At least one person's or business name on the registration must match a named insured on the policy.

Report any errors to your company so they may update their database. If you believe the DMV has incorrect information, please call NVLIVE The information on file can be researched to verify if you are required to come into the office.

Why did I receive a certified letter?

A certified letter is the notification of a possible suspension. This could mean we did not receive a response from the registered owner within the (15) days response time or the insurance company did not respond to our notice within their (20) day response time.

Another possibility is that the insurance company has denied your coverage. If there is an actual lapse in coverage, you will have to follow the procedures under Reinstatements & Penalties.

You may not legally drive the vehicle as of the suspension date listed in the letter.

I received a letter that says "disregard" or "rescinded".

The "disregard" letter means your insurance company has responded to the verification card sent to you by confirming your insurance information.

The "rescinded" letter means the suspension or your registration has been reversed and is no longer in effect. In most cases this means your insurance company confirmed coverage with the DMV, and nothing more is needed. You may legally drive the vehicle if the registration is otherwise valid. Use the Insurance and Registration Status Inquiry to be sure.

What is an SR22? How does this relate to an insurance reinstatement?

"SR-22 Insurance" is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility that your insurance company will file with the DMV. Any lapse of insurance that is 91 days or more, one registered owner is required to maintain an SR22 for 3 years.

The company will notify us immediately if you drop the coverage. Penalties for failure to maintain insurance under the SR-22 requirement include a suspension of your driver license and the registrations of all vehicles registered to you.

My vehicle was dormant during the lapse of insurance.

If the owner of the vehicle declares it dormant due to mechanical or seasonal circumstances during the period in question, the owner must sign a Dormant Vehicle Affidavit (NVL-003) as well as a Property Owner Affidavit (NVL-025) and present documentation to verify the status. The reinstatement requirements will then include presenting current proof of insurance, a Declaration of Responsibility (NVL019) and the payment required.

If approved, the Dormant Vehicle Affidavit (NVL-003) will reduce the reinstatement fee to $50.00. The fine for the lapse of insurance may still apply.

I will be parking my vehicle and may obtain "garage" insurance. Is this insurance acceptable?

In most cases, garage insurance is NOT liability insurance, and therefore is not acceptable or reported to the DMV. Comprehensive, collision and other coverage is not reported to DMV.

If you drop the liability insurance for any reason, you must cancel the registration and surrender the license plates. NVLIVE verification applies only to liability insurance. See License Plate Surrender.

Please check with your insurance agent to verify whether you have liability coverage.

I'm having a dispute with my insurance company/agent. What can I do?

If your insurance company has denied your coverage and you believe this to be incorrect, you can contact the Nevada Division of Insurance (775) 687-0700 (North) or (702) 486-4009 (South) to inquire about filing a complaint.

Nevada Insurance Requirements

Nevada requires that automobile liability insurance policies carry minimum coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident; $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and $20,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

Coverage must be validated electronically by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State of Nevada. Search Licensed Insurers.

Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronically (NVLIVE) verification applies only to liability insurance. Comprehensive, collision and other coverage is not reported to DMV.

You must present Nevada Evidence of Insurance on a printed card or on a mobile device to register your vehicle. It must be presented at most registration transactions: first-time, renewals, reinstatement and license plate changes. It must be carried in your vehicle at all times and presented to any law enforcement officer upon request.

Sometimes when you purchase new insurance or renew your policy, the policy number changes and/or the insurance company name changes. These changes must be reported to DMV as soon as possible. Use the Online Update. You or your agent need to report:

  • The insurance company’s name (enter exactly as it is on the card) or enter the company’s five-digit National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) Number;
  • The policy number (enter exactly as it is on the card);
  • The effective date; and
  • The termination or expiration date.
  • The insurance card will have a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) if the policy is vehicle specific. If the insurance card does not have a VIN and says operator, this policy is operator specific.
  • A Fleet or Self-Insurance policy cannot be updated online. Please contact us.

Nevada has no grace period. A one day lapse in your insurance coverage will result in a possible suspension of your registration. The minimum penalty is a $250 reinstatement fee. See Penalties.

Brochures and Links

Motor Carriers

Higher liability insurance requirements apply to Motor Carriers (any person or business which transports people or property for hire). For more information, ask your insurance agent or contact our Motor Carrier section. See also our Vehicles in Business guide and Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 706

Self-Insurance

Persons or businesses who have more than 10 vehicles may qualify as a self-insurer. See Fleet Registration/Self-Insurance and Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 485.

How NVLIVE Works

Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronically (NVLIVE) validates your coverage with your insurer instantly as part of the registration process. The DMV also verifies coverage periodically throughout the year.

Newly-issued policies may not be validated immediately if the policy has not been processed. You should check back using the Insurance and Registration Status Inquiry to ensure the listing is completed.

Individual agents cannot send insurance information; it must come from the company’s corporate underwriting department electronically.

Reported information includes Vehicle Identification Number, the name(s) of the insured, the policy’s effective dates, expiration/termination dates and the insured’s Nevada driver license or business FEIN number.

It is important the name(s) on your insurance and vehicle registration match. If you change the name on your insurance, you must also change the name on your vehicle registration. At least one person's or business name on the registration must match a named insured on the policy.

An operator policy may be used in lieu of owner’s policy of liability. Each registered owner of the vehicle must maintain an operator policy in order to meet Nevada’s requirement for liability insurance.

Canceling Your Insurance or Registration

If you drop the liability insurance on any vehicle for any reason, you must first cancel the registration and surrender the license plates.

If you cancel your insurance, it is extremely important for you to do the following:

  • If you cancel your insurance because your vehicle is not in use, you must first cancel your Nevada registration. You may cancel your registration online through MyDMV.
  • If you sell your vehicle, you must remove the license plates, then cancel your Nevada registration. The license plates do not stay on the vehicle.
  • You will receive credit toward registration of another vehicle for the unused portion of the canceled registration. You may qualify for a refund under certain limited circumstances.
  • If you have personalized plates and wish to keep them, you may do so by bringing the rear plate to the DMV and scraping off the decal in person.

See Plate Surrender/Registration Fee Refunds for more details.

Contact Us

Department of Motor Vehicles
Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronically (NVLIVE)
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0800

Contact Us Online

(775) 684-4850 Reno/Sparks/Carson City
(702) 486-8696 Las Vegas Area
(800) 344-0483 Rural/Toll Free
(775) 684-4904 TDD (Hearing Impaired only)
(775) 684-4543 Fax (NVLIVE only)