Insurance Information for Agents and Companies
- At least one of the named insured must appear on the vehicle registration. A vehicle registered only to an additional driver will cause a lapse.
- Review the actual vehicle registration when writing the policy. The name and VIN must match.
Motorists are required to present Nevada Evidence of Liability Insurance at the DMV. See Locations for DMV office fax numbers.
- Remind your customers to change their address with the Department when they move.
- You may confirm continuous coverage on behalf of your customers. See the Coverage Affidavit below.
- Nevada allows Evidence of Liability Insurance to be displayed on mobile devices.
- New Federal Odometer Law - 2011 and newer vehicles are not exempt from odometer disclosure, even if the vehicle title indicates otherwise. See Titles.
Classic Vehicle Insurance
Help your customers! Agents may use the online update to ensure the DMV has the correct policy information.
- Update Your Insurance if you have recently changed companies or policies.
- Registration and Insurance Status Inquiry to check your registration and current coverage.
- Verification Response if you have received a letter asking you to verify coverage.
- Registration Suspension Reinstatement If your vehicle registration has been suspended.
A recently-purchased or changed policy may not be verified instantly if you have only issued a binder and the carrier has not completely processed it. You need to check the Status Inquiry at a later date to ensure your insurance company validated the policy.
- The MyDMV Registration Cancellation & Vehicle Resale Notification helps motorists protect themselves in the event a vehicle they have sold is later abandoned. Sellers must also transfer or surrender their license plates. See Plate Surrender. Online cancellation is also used for placing vehicles in storage.
- NICB VINCheck checks for stolen and salvage vehicles - free
- NHTSA VIN Decoder - free
- NMVTIS Vehicle Title Information - small fees apply
- Safety Recall Lookup from safercar.gov - free
- The Nevada Division of Insurance online search lists agents, agencies and companies.
Did You Know...
The DMV offers many alternatives to in-person visits. Use the insurance-related services above and these too!
Kiosks charge a $4 processing fee for registration renewals and a $1.25 fee for all other transactions.
- Registration Renewals online, at kiosks and at emission inspection stations.
See Registration Renewals. Customers without a renewal notice may use their license plate number and last 4 digits of the VIN. Renewals can be up to 18 months late. Kiosks dispense the decal and registration certificate on the spot. Kiosks at DMV offices also accept cash.
- Driver History Printouts online and at kiosks
Drivers may obtain a three, nine or ten year history online and at kiosks. We also have a code lookup page for court, violation and withdrawal codes. See Driver History.
- License and ID Duplicates online
See Duplicates for options.
- Drive Test Scheduling and Registration Fee Estimates online
Drive test scheduling is for Class C and M non-commercial drivers who have an instruction permit and have met any time limits or other requirements. Have the VIN ready for the Registration Fee Estimate.
We have tip sheets for your customers:
- Seat Belts and Child Safety Seats: English | Spanish
- DMV Transaction Requirements:
Real ID/Standard License: English | Spanish | Real ID vs Standard
Driver Authorization Card: English | Spanish
- Vehicle Registration Requirements
- Teen Driver Licensing Requirements and Restrictions
See Nevada Teen Driving.
- Vehicle Equipment Tip Sheets:
Electronic Evidence of Insurance
Nevada Evidence of Liability Insurance may be presented on a printed card or in an electronic format to be displayed on a mobile electronic device.
Insurers are not required to provide electronic evidence. However, they must always provide a printed card upon request.
If you present your mobile device to another person to provide Evidence of Liability Insurance:
- You assume all liability for any damage to the device
- A peace officer may view only the Evidence of Liability Insurance and may not intentionally view any other content on the device
- The Evidence of Liability Insurance must be provided by your insurer and contain all of the information provided on a printed card
See NRS 690B.023 and NRS 484A.650 and for further details.
Nevada LIVE (Liability Insurance Validation Electronically) is the Department of Motor Vehicles' program to verify motor vehicle liability insurance coverage. The DMV and insurance companies exchange policy information over a secure internet connection.
Reporting Guides & Publications
- Insurance Company Specifications Manual
Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711-0800
(775) 684-4850 Reno/Sparks/Carson City
(702) 486-8696 Las Vegas Area
(775) 684-4904 TDD (Hearing Impaired only)