Credential Return Receipt (MC 021)
Motor Carrier is now offering electronic plate surrenders:
- Complete the Credential Return Receipt (MC 021) and take a clear picture or scan it.
- Take a picture or scan the cab card you want to surrender.
- Take a picture of the plate you want to surrender.
- Make sure you are emailing from the email address that is on your Motor Carrier account.
- Send all of the above together to firstname.lastname@example.org.
If these criteria are not met, your plates may not be surrendered. Electronic plate surrenders are for Motor Carrier plates only and we will not surrender regular DMV plates or registrations. Your documents will be processed in the order received and a receipt will be issued.
Nevada's maximum gross weight for registration from 80,000 pounds (lbs.) to 129,000 lbs. There is no need for a separate overweight/over length permit for reducible loads.
The Nevada DMV Motor Carrier Division issues overlength permits for vehicles with multiple trailers and reducible loads that exceed 70 feet in length (maximum weight is 129,000 pounds). Email email@example.com or call (775) 684-4711 for more information.
See NDOT Commercial Vehicle Permits and General Permit Information for Over Dimensional Permits and Letters of Instruction on route restrictions.
For Nevada-based carriers, Motor Carrier branch offices issue 24 hour permits (120 hours for buses) for temporary registration and special fuel taxes. Fees for registration are $5 plus 15 cents per mile. Special fuel permits are a flat $30. See also Motor Carrier Permits.
Amber Light and Hazardous Materials Permits
See Nevada State Police Highway Patrol Permits or call (775) 684-4622.
The State Police issue flashing amber light permits and 72-hour HazMat Permits. Nevada issues a maximum of one 72-hour permit during any three consecutive months per NAC 459.984.
Annual HazMat Permits
Carriers must obtain HazMat permits from their base state. Nevada is one of the states participating in the Uniform State Hazardous Materials Registration and Permitting Program.
Apply online at hazmatalliance.org.
See the State Police page for federal and state HazMat laws.