Duplicate Driver License, ID or DAC

New License Design

The DMV is now issuing a new design for driver's licenses, ID cards and driver authorization cards. See the examples below under Real ID.
Man holding driver license

Ordering Options

Duplicate cards are mailed and will contain your existing photo. They are not issued over the counter at DMV offices. See Fees for fee information.

Online

You may order a duplicate online through a MyDMV account. If you do not have the information needed to set up a MyDMV account, please order in person.

MyDMV - Online Duplicate License, ID Card or Driver Authorization Card

Some restrictions apply:

  • The card must not expire within the next 60 days
  • A driver's license, instruction permit or DAC must not be suspended or revoked
  • There is no change of address since the license was last issued
  • Commercial license duplicates must be ordered in person at a CDL Office
  • Please review the Real ID information below. If you order a duplicate in person, you may wish to upgrade to a Real ID if you have not already done so.

If you are temporarily outside of Nevada, please contact us.

In Person

Make an appointment at larger DMV offices. Complete the application in advance. See Real ID below if you have not already upgraded.

Application for Driving Privileges or ID Card (DMV 002):
English  |  Spanish  |  Tagalog

Real ID

If your license or ID had a gold star in the upper right corner, you already have a Real ID. Your duplicate will contain the star. You do not have to submit any additional documentation.

If not, your duplicate will be marked "NOT FOR REAL ID PURPOSES."

A Real ID will be required for those who wish to use a driver's license or state ID to board aircraft beginning May 3, 2023. See DHS Real ID Information for details and other instances where a Real ID is required.

You must visit a DMV office and submit proof of identity and address to obtain a Real ID. You can upgrade at the same time as you order a duplicate or complete another DMV transaction.

Visit GetRealNevada.com and The Real ID Act in Nevada to determine whether a Real ID is right for you.

Driver License Designs
Real ID Standard
Real ID Driver License Standard Nevada License
These are new designs rolled out in 2021. See Driver License Designs for the older versions.

Homeless and Released Prisoner Fee Exemptions

  • Homeless - 25 Years of Age and Older

    Homeless - 25 Years of Age and Older

    The Department is authorized to waive the fee for homeless persons 25 and older to obtain a duplicate Nevada driver's license or ID card. This is a one-time exemption for duplicates only. You must apply for this in person at a DMV office and complete the declaration form.

    You may be required to reimburse the $3.25 photo fee to the Department at the time of your next regular renewal if you are employed at the time of the renewal.
    The fee exemption does not apply to:

    • New residents obtaining a Nevada license or ID for the first time
    • Renewals
    • Any fees or requirements associated with a license suspension or revocation
    • Commercial licenses
  • Homeless - Under 25 Years of Age

    Homeless - Under 25 Years of Age

    The Department is authorized to waive the fee for homeless persons under 25 to obtain an original, renewal or duplicate Nevada driver’s license or ID card.  This is a one-time exemption.  You must apply for this in person at a DMV office and complete the declaration form.

    You are not required to reimburse any fees waived for this exemption.

  • Released Prisoners

    Released Prisoners

    The Department is authorized to waive the $18.25 duplicate fee for persons who have been released from prison or jail within the past 90 days. You must supply official documentation of your release date from the Nevada Department of Corrections, its counterpart in another state or a local jail.

    This is a one-time exemption for duplicates only. You must apply for this in person at a DMV office, complete the request form and provide documentation of your release date.

    You may be required to reimburse the $3.25 photo fee to the Department at the time of your next regular renewal if you are employed at the time of the renewal.

    The fee exemption does not apply to:

    • New residents obtaining a Nevada license or ID for the first time
    • Renewals
    • Any fees or requirements associated with a license suspension or revocation
    • Commercial licenses

    See the Released Prisoner or Inmate Driver’s License and Identification Card Information (DMV 013) for information on original licenses and renewals.