How to Get Your Refund
The DMV is issuing refunds of $1 Technology Fees paid by customers between July 1, 2020 and August 31, 2021.
- Refunds are paid in cash at DMV offices only. No appointment is necessary.
- We have set up special windows in metropolitan offices. There is no wait. Refunds are not issued on Saturdays.
- We encourage you to wait until your next in-person DMV visit prior to June 30, 2023 when the program ends.
- Refunds will not be given at AAA offices, rural County Assessors or any other DMV partner location.
- Refunds are issued to the person listed on the specific DMV transaction, not to another person who may have paid the fees.
- In the case of multiple vehicle owners, the refund will be paid to the person listed as the "Mail-To" contact in DMV records.
- Refunds for businesses and family trusts have already been issued.
Call (775) 684-4611 or email DMVTechFeeSupport@dmv.nv.gov for more information.
Please have your Nevada driver's license or ID card number and any license plate number(s) ready.
Refunds apply only to DMV transactions completed between July 1, 2020 and August 31, 2021.
During that time period, a $1 Technology Fee for each transaction was charged on most services, including vehicle registrations, driver's licenses, state ID cards, renewals, vehicle titles and business licenses.
Customers are eligible for a refund of each fee paid. For example, if you renewed a vehicle registration, registered a new vehicle, and made a change to your driver's license during the affected time period, you would be entitled to a refund of $3.
Refunds are paid in cash as $1 bills at DMV offices to the person whose name is listed on the transaction or credential. If there are multiple owners of a vehicle, only the designated "Mail-To" owner may receive the refund.
You may visit any DMV office. You do not have to visit the office where your transaction was conducted.
Refunds will not be paid by check, direct deposit or as credits toward other DMV transactions.
Business and commercial customers — including small business entities, auto dealers, rental car companies, commercial fleets and estate trusts — have already received their refunds as checks.
The refund program ends June 30, 2023.
The DMV is issuing these refunds in compliance with a Nevada Supreme Court decision regarding legislation passed in the 2019 Nevada Legislature. See Why is the DMV issuing refunds? below.