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Electronically (LIVE)
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Update Using the Web

WHEN UPDATING an insurance record on
the Nevada DMV'’s website, its database is be-
ing accessed. For security purposes, the web
page requires several pieces of information to
find the registration record for a specific vehicle.
Each of the search items must match exactly or
the system will return a “No Match.”

Required Information

VEHICLE:
* Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
* License plate number (agents can enter the
NAIC rather than the license plate number).

IF INFORMATION is entered into the web in-
correctly, the search will return a “No Match.”
In order to update the insurance the customer
must contact Nevada LIVE at (775) 684.4850 or
visit a DMV office.

Common errors

AFTER A SUCCESSFUL SEARCH, you
must enter the insurance information exactly as
it is written on the evidence of insurance includ-
ing the policy type (vehicle or operator).

THE VALIDATION PERIOD begins after the
insurance information is submitted.

If the policy is “Unconfirmed,” please contact
your insurance company’s corporate office to
verify the information in their web database is
correct so that DMV can resolve the incident be-
fore sending a postcard to your customer.

You can check whether coverage has been veri-
fied using the online Registration and Insurance
Status.

Handling the Postcard

IF YOUR CUSTOMER receives a postcard,
you can help them respond through the online
Insurance Verification Response.

All of the information you or the customer
needs is printed on the postcard. The registered
owner must respond to the request for insurance
information within 15 days. DMV advises the
registered owner or agent to respond on the web
using the access code on the postcard. At this
step, neither the agent nor the insurance com-
pany needs to contact DMV.

IF THE REGISTERED OWNER does not re-
spond to the postcard within 15 days or the in-
surance information is not confirmed within 10
days after the information is entered, a certified
letter is sent to the registered owner notifying
them that their vehicle registration will be sus-
pended. The suspension begins 10 days from the
mailing of the certified letter.

Was There a Lapse?

IF YOUR CUSTOMER had a valid lapse of
insurance, the certified letter has instructions to
reinstate the vehicle registration.

Reinstatement fees for an insurance lapse range
from $250 to $750. Additional fines ranging
from $250 to $1,000 are assessed on a tiered
system based on the length of the lapse and the
history of previous violations. Offenders may
also be subject to SR-22 coverage and a 30-day
driver’s license suspension.

Reinstatement may be completed online, at a
DMV in a Box kiosk or at a DMV office. A reg-
istration renewal may be completed at the same
time if needed. Address changes may be com-
pleted online through a MyDMV account.
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Questions?
Nevada LIVE: (775) 684-4850
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