We do not accept any address change by email.
Address changes on Commercial Driver Licenses must be completed in person. See DMV offices and review the Real ID information below.
Nevada law requires motorists to notify DMV of a change of address within 30 days of the move, including residents who are leaving the state permanently.
Keeping your address current with us is important as we mail your renewal notices. We also use the mail to notify residents of license suspensions, vehicle insurance validation problems and other potentially serious issues.
You may list separate mailing and residence addresses. The DMV can also update the address on your voter registration when you change your address with us if you move within the same county.
Nevada issues licenses that comply with the federal Real ID Act of 2005.
If you currently have a standard license and you complete your address change online or by mail/fax, your new license or ID will be marked "NOT FOR FEDERAL OFFICIAL USE." See The Real ID Act in Nevada for more information.
If you wish to obtain a first-time Real ID license or ID card, you must visit a DMV office and submit proof of identity and address. If your card is already a Real ID, you may use any option.
A Real ID compliant license is marked with gold circle containing a star. A Real ID will be required for those who wish to use a driver's license or state ID to board aircraft beginning October 1, 2020. See Real ID Enforcement in Brief for details and other instances where a Real ID is required.
To obtain a Real ID license or ID card, you must show proof of identity and residential address one time at the DMV. Most license holders submitted proof of identity in the past. You must show the documents again to obtain a Real ID.
A standard Nevada license or ID card is marked "NOT FOR FEDERAL OFFICIAL USE" and will not be valid for boarding aircraft or other uses outlined in Real ID Enforcement in Brief.
You may use the Internet, kiosk or mail options below if you are eligible to do so.
Change your address online with a MyDMV account. You'll receive a new license or ID in the mail. You also have the option of ordering duplicate registration certificates.
Take a moment to create your account and get access to your license and vehicle records all in one place. MyDMV is address changes and much more!
Please note your license or ID will be marked "NOT FOR FEDERAL OFFICIAL USE" unless you have already received a Real ID.
Complete the Change of Address Notification (DMV 22). You may fax the request to (775) 684-4829 or mail it to the address on the application.
You should include a Payment Authorization (VP 205) with faxed orders. Send an authorization, a check or a money order with mailed applications. Do not send cash.
The cost for your license or ID card is $4.25. We will mail you a new license or ID card within 10 business days.
Updated Registration Certificates for your vehicles are optional. You may write your new address on the existing certificate. If you wish to order a new certificate and/or license plate decal, the cost is $6 for each vehicle. These are mailed separately from your license.
Active-duty military members, spouses and dependents who are residents of Nevada but stationed in another state should include a copy of their most recent Leave and Earnings Statement.
You can complete a change of address in person at any DMV office. The new license or ID will be mailed to you. Registration Certificates are issued at the office.
The fee for an address change only is $4.25. If you are upgrading to a Real ID, the fee is $9.25 for a driver's license, $8.25 for an ID card or $13.25 for a commercial license.
Use the following application for in-person address changes:
Updated Registration Certificates are optional. You may write your new address on the existing certificate. If you wish to order a new certificate and/or license plate decal, the cost is $6 for each vehicle. These are issued at the office.
Use MyDMV if your vehicle registration is due and you must change your address. Create a MyDMV account, change your address and renew online in just a few simple steps.
Vehicle registration renewals completed through the Internet or emission inspection stations are sent to the address on record for the vehicle. The U.S. Postal Service will not forward the Registration Certificate and decal. A forwarding order with the Postal Service does not change your address with the DMV.
You may also renew by mail and include a Change of Address Notification (DMV 22). If your registration is due or expired, you may renew at a DMV kiosk and complete the address change afterward. You do not need a renewal notice to obtain an emission inspection or renew.
If you have already completed the renewal, you will have to apply for a substitute decal. You may change your address and order a duplicate through MyDMV.
Or, you may use an Application for Duplicate Registration Certificate (VP 013) and a Payment Authorization (VP 205). Include a cover letter with your daytime telephone number. Fax these to (775) 684-4797 or mail them to the address on the application. If you are mailing your application, you may pay by check or money order.